Spunk Counts

A friend of mine posted a link to this blog on her Facebook page. Several people have been kind enough to read a few posts and then send me a comment or two. One came from an old friend I haven’t seen in a few years, but we’ve stayed closed through social media. I’ve always valued his perspective and his refreshing honesty.

He shared that, through my blog, he’s now able to understand what a cancer patient goes through during chemo. He said that whenever confronted with a friend (or, in his case, a family member) who was diagnosed with cancer, he, like most people, “fell back on the cliche that [he] had to admit [he] couldn’t imagine what they were going through.” Now, thanks to this blog, he says “I know.”

He wrote: “You must know what a gift you have made for a lot of people. I’m sure others have recorded the minutiae of their experience but yours is funny and honest and accepting in that you put the best face on it. You are quite inspiring. I think spunk counts a lot. You’re my hero.”

Wow – I am honoured. And profoundly glad that this blog is helping people. That’s why I am sharing so completely and honestly. If others can benefit from my experiences and lessons learned, that’s a very good thing.

Chemotherapy sucks. It was an exceedingly unpleasant experience. But – I got through it. The body is amazingly able to cope and adapt. Radiation is less awful (I’ll be writing about it next), but it has its own set of challenges. Attitude really does count. Whether it’s spunk or something else, channeling your positive, don’t take no for an answer resolve is as healing as any of the drugs they pump into you.

So, here’s to spunk and honesty. And friends who remind you that you are making a difference. Thank you!

This entry was posted in recovery and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

